OpenStack Project User
Next to the NWS-ID, the OpenStack Project User provides an additional option to sign in to your OpenStack project.
Since NWS-ID comes with some limitations regarding the use of Application Credentials, EC2 Credentials for S3 / Object Storage and Terraform, the OpenStack Project User can be used in those scenarios as an alternative.
Enabling the Project User
After creating your Virtual Private Cloud (VPC), the OpenStack Project User will be disabled by default.
So you will have to enable the user first, before you can get the user credentials and make use of the additional user account.
To enable the user, navigate to your VPC. You will find a box with the title "OpenStack Project User", containing an action button "Enable User". Just click on that button to enable the user.
It will take a few seconds to complete the operation. The page will reload automatically once it is finished.
Requesting a new Password
Once the account of the OpenStack Project User has been enabled, you will have the option to request a password.
There are a two important facts to know about this action:
- The password will be displayed only once, meaning for as long as you stay on the page
- Requesting a new password will invalidate the previous password
We therefore advise you to save the password locally in a secure place (like a Password Manager) as soon as you have obtained it.
In order to request a new password, just click on the half-circle-arrow icon next to the "Password" row.
After the action
has been completed, a password text field appears which contains the new password.
default the password will be hidden. You will be able to view and then copy the password by clicking the eye icon inside the password field.
Disabling the Project User
You will find a button "Disable User" in the "OpenStack Project User" box if the user was enabled previously. Clicking the button will disable the user account.
Technically, to be precise, the user is not disabled. What happens when you click "Disable User" is that the current password expires with immediate effect and the "Update password" option is locked for the account.